Transcribe Page

House Journal 1827 (30-318942-P007B.pdf)

1 State of Maine. House of Representatives. Portland January 3d 1827.

This being the day appointed by the Constitution of the State of Maine for the meeting of the Legislature of said State, the following members of the House of Representatives, appeared, presented their credentials and took their seats, viz: [underlined]From York County [left column - names] Daniel Goodenow Samuel Hill William Weymouth Samuel Pierson Simeon Pease William Fogg John Dennett Joshua J Chase Edward E Bourney Daniel W Lord Aaron Higgins Nathaniel Hill Simon Fogg. Samuel Pray. Gamaliiel E Smith. Noah Weeks Joshua Roberts George Parcher Timothy Shaw John Trafton Henry Hobbs Nathaniel Gilman Charles O Emerson

[right column - towns] Alfred. Buxton. Berwick. Biddeford. Cornish. Elliot. Hollis. Kittery. Kennebunk. Kennebunk Port. Limington. Lyman. Limerick. Lebanon. Newfield. Parsonsfield. South Berwick. Saco. Sanford. Shapleigh. Waterboro' Wells. York.


The journal of the House of Representatives documents the proceedings in the chamber, including actions taken on bills, petitions and reports from committees read, and votes taken. The journals are not transcripts and therefore do not include floor speeches that are found in the modern Legislative Records.

Link to document in Digital Maine

Language: Englsih

Date: 1827

Image 13 of 282