Transcribe Page

House Journal 1823 (30-318938-P006B.pdf)

This transcription is complete!

Portland Wednesday January 1st 1823


This being the day appointed by the Constitution of the State of Maine for the meeting of the Legislature of said State, the following members of the House of Representatives appeared, produced their credentials and took their seats. viz,


From the County of York.

John Sayward [--] Alfred. Nathan Elden [--] Buxton. Joseph Prime [--] Berwick. Isaac Emery [--] Biddeford. Ben. Thompson [--] Cornish. John Hammond [--] Elliot. Stephen Hopkinson [--] Hollis. Joshua T. Chase [--] Kittery. Simon Nowell [--] Kennebunkport. Nathaniel Clark [--] Limington. Thomas Sands [--] Lyman. Simeon Moulton [--] Newfield. Samuel Fox [--] Parsonsfield. George Scammon [Scamman] [--] Saco. John Bodwell [--] Shapleigh. Phinehas Ricker [--] Waterboro'. Alexander McIntire [--] York.

From the County of Cumberland.

Robert P. Dunlap [--] Brunswick John Perley [--] Bridgton

Description: The journal of the House of Representatives documents the proceedings in the chamber, including actions taken on bills, petitions and reports from committees read, and votes taken. The journals are not transcripts and therefore do not include floor speeches that are found in the modern Legislative Records.

Link to document in Digital Maine

Language: English

Date: 1823

Image 11 of 310