Transcribe Page

Senate Journal 1820-21 (30-28907-P014A.pdf)

4 In Senate Thursday morning June 1, 1820

Present Hon. John Chandler President Hon. William Moody

" Josiah W. Seaver " John McDonald " Joseph E. Foxcroft " Nathaniel Green " Andrew Witham " Jeremiah O'Brien

Hon. Joshua Gage

" Timothy Boutelle " Samuel Small " James W. Ripley " John Moore " William Kendall " William D. Williamson

The committee appointed to receive & examine the returns of votes given in the several towns & plantations in this State for Senators & to report thereon, who appear to be elected agreeably to the Constitution & what vacancies exist & who are the Constitutional candidates to fill the same, made the following report. viz.

[Report of Committee on return of votes senators]

"The Committee of the Senate to whom was referred the certified votes for Senators in the several Counties in this State, have examined the returns from the towns & plantations and ask leave to reports the following facts & particulars: In the County of York whole number of votes is 10,357. Necessary to make a choice 1,727 William Moody Esqr. has 2,714 Josiah W. Seaver Esqr. has 2,009 Josh McDonald Esqr. has 1,983 and they are chosen.

In the County of Cumberland The whole number of votes is 11,630. Necessary to make a choice 1,939. Joseph E. Foxcroft Esqr has 3,112 and he is chosen. There are in this county two vacancies to be filled by the Legislature: the candidates are Lathrop Lewis Esqr who has 1921 votes; Barret Potter Esqr who has 1646 votes; Richard T. Dunlap Esqr who has 1241 votes.

Description: The Journal of the Senate documents the proceedings in the chamber, including actions taken on bills, petitions and reports from committees read, and votes taken. The journals are not transcripts and therefore do not include floor speeches that are found in the modern Legislative Records.

Link to document in Digital Maine

Language: English

Date: 1820-1821

Image 26 of 478